Making Your Own Korean Sauna Lamb Towel

If you are an avid Korean drama viewer like me, you would have noticed numerous dramas using Jjimjilbang (Korean sauna) as part of their scenes. It’s a really incredible place where you can take a bath, perspire, and relax leisurely. You would also have noticed that they often sport those ridiculously cute lamb towel hats much like the one shown below as worn by Eric and Andy in the Xman Germany Special when they were at the 2006 Fifa World Cup. Their claim to fame is that it supposedly keeps your ears from burning at the Jjimjilbang.

snapshot20070821094255.jpg

It’s actually quite easy to create them and all you need is just a face towel that is preferbably not too big or small. Just something in the middle of big and small. Then follow the instructions as shown in the self-explanatory pictures below.

20050713234347328471.jpg

Steps:
1. Fold the bottom part of the towel 1/3 up.
2. Fold the top part of the towel 1/3 down.
3. Roll up the sides (left and right equally) like how you would roll up jeans.
4. Open it up and put it on your head.

Estimate how big your head is or visualize a baseball cap. Roll each side an equal amount of times until you get to that approximate size. Don’t start off making the rolls little, otherwise it gets harder and harder to roll. I usually roll each side three times. Practise makes perfect and you will get it eventually.

If you’re having trouble at the 4th step, that step is like rolling up the sleeves of a shirt – roll it until you think your head can fit in what’s left, then open it up.

27 thoughts on “Making Your Own Korean Sauna Lamb Towel

  1. Omg!!! I just realized!! Your hair in your profile pic actually looks like Kangin from Super Junior!! Hahahahaha! I think Shindong had that hair too.

  2. thanks!!!
    been trying to figure this out for a long time,
    finally give up and search it online and found you!!
    thanks a lot!!!

  3. i’ve been trying to figure out where to learn this and cant find.
    anw, thanks loads!!! XD

  4. Wow! I was looking on how to do this! I’m glad I found your tutorial. I’ll have to try this in a second! Haha, thank you so much! I have seen this in many korean dramas and always wondered. :]

  5. oh how adorable…and helpful. I will have to try at home first to make sure I get it right before I try at a spa

  6. wow finally! a tut on this! i should have looked for this before. was always curious since seeing it for the first time on X-man.

  7. cute doggie ^^
    just a question though… is there a specific name for the ‘lamb towel’ in korean? 🙂
    xx

  8. OMG…. This is just what I’ve been wondering about. Thanks for sharing!!! You’re the best!

  9. THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU! IVE BEEN LOOKING FOR THIS FOR THE LONGEST TIMEE 8D

  10. thanks for the tutorial.seems like everyone succeded in a 1st try..(i’m included) ^_^ …

  11. Thanks for the tutorial! I’ve always wanted to learn how to do this ever since I saw Taeyeon of SNSD wear her towel like this in Family Outing! Frickin’ awesome!

  12. Hey .. This Helped me alot!! LOL.. I was doing it the wrong way and I almost gave up.. Thanks to your post.. I was able to make one of those hats.. Thanks again 😉 Have a nice weekend =)

  13. Pingback: 10 ‘Interesting’ Multifunctional Headpieces « Hauteonomy

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.