Youtube Goes Widescreen

Frequent and occasional users of Youtube.com would have noticed a big/wide change today when you tried viewing a video on their website.

Youtube Just Got Wider

Quote from their blog announcing the change:

We’re expanding the width of the page to 960 pixels to better reflect the quality of the videos you create and the screens that you use to watch them. This new, wider player is in a widescreen aspect ratio which we hope will provide you with a cleaner, more powerful viewing experience. And don’t worry, your 4:3 aspect ratio videos will play just fine in this new player.

Although this is has been a major change that would be welcome to some, it will no doubt be frowned upon by others. As this comes as default, videos that were not made for this widescreen resolution will suffer some noticeable quality loss, especially those that are in the old 4:3 resolution. Besides the quality loss, videos in 4:3 resolution will have black bars added around it to make it fit the now 16:9 resolution player. If only we could turn the widescreen off for 4:3 videos. Well, at least we can look forward to HD on Youtube.com now.

28 thoughts on “Youtube Goes Widescreen

  1. Waaah Good news, hope the quality will as good as dailymotion’s videos, since we can’t download the video from DM, thanks coolsmurf for the info.

  2. LOL, so it’s not just me. xD Youtube’s getting better, it lets the viewer watch the videos in HQ now as well. 🙂

  3. i know,, coz I just watched “It’s Okay” from your youtube, and they went widescreen and I was just “wooooowww”

  4. The wider the screen and the higher the quality it means only one thing..i’m gonna love youtube even more XD

  5. lol. i noticed the change too. it suprised me. i was watching a video at the time. it’ll have pros and cons.

  6. @vertigo
    isn’t that a good thing? especially coz they change things towards better: closed captions, annotations, wider screen, high quality video, and the alike, i can’t longer recall.

    ,,, now i can enjoy watching kpop artists’ performance even more,, kkkkkkkkkk

  7. When I went to Youtube and saw this, I was like huh! I thought something wrong but it still didn’t change.. hahaha

    Anyway, Love it!

  8. hahaha..no wonder..i notice the change of wide screen on youtube while watching a video of JoongBo couple…then noticed “what happend to my computer..??” or “maybe there is a change on youtube..” after read ur blog juz then i found that this is actually a change to the wide screen on youtube…ehehhee.. ~ nwy..that is a good thing tho….hhehee..(satisfiying) ^_^ 😀

  9. rofl.
    OH SO IT WAS AN UPDATE.
    yesterday, i went on youtube and since my computer has been kinda weird lately since viruses raped my comp, i thought it was just my computer. thank god

  10. …I was surprised last night, I thought I clicked the 125% but I didn’t so I called my sister and then she told me about YT’s change…I’m loving it…I can now watch all the Super Show upload in wide screen without going full screen…no complaints here.

  11. thanks for having an article about this! i was watching something and left for a few hours, came back, and then it was widescreen all of a sudden…i had no idea what was going on. i wish youtube had better communication with viewers (i.e. youtube live tokyo which was NOT live, and going widescreen as well). YOUTUBE COMMUNICATION = MAJOR FAIL

  12. I was online really early in the morning today when it happened. I remember opening up another video when I realized that it went wide screen out of nowhere. I was puzzled at first since I opened another tab to let a drama load, while the screen I was watching was not wide screen.

    I haven’t really noticed any changes in the videos I am watching. It doesn’t make the videos any clearer. It kind of reminds me of crunchyroll’s wide screen O__o

  13. Yeahh i noticed that yesterday. One moment it was just regular then when i clicked another video it went widescreen! I do hope they put an option if we want it widescreen or not.

  14. ahhh it just changed last night
    i’ve never actually find the changes that youtube made to it’s features more helpful at all~
    i just kinna get used to it oh well, i guess they’ll just keep on changing to their taste

  15. LOL i thought it was just my computer doing something when i saw the widescreen.
    will this effect coolsmurf’s videos badly?

  16. it just can’t get any worse! i’m trapped enough on youtube as it is…now there’s no reason to have an offline life!

    😀
    😀

Leave a Reply

