We Got Married Has Lost Its Heart Throbbing Effect

MBC Sunday Night Night, “We Got Married” has shown their new couples Lee Hwi Jae/Jo Yeo Jeong and Kim Hyun Joong/Hwang Bo for the last 2 weeks. On the 18th May broadcast, the two couples have taken into and shown their own characters. However, viewers were pretty harsh on them. It’s not fun like before. The viewers neither feel touched or have a heart-throbbing feeling.

Alex and Shin Ae sorely missed

What is the reason behind this? The exaggerated character expression (of the new couples) and the awkward situations are some of the major reasons but the biggest reason of them all is the viewers’ desire to see Alex-Shin Ae couple again. They were the ideal man and woman, and the loving couple. People can’t seem to erase their love for this couple. (the same with all of us here)

We know about this from the reactions at the message board after the end of last episode’s broadcast. People talked about how they felt throbbing (in their hearts) when they watch the two (Alex-Shin Ae) and that something was missing after they (Alex-Shin Ae) left. (their void can’t be replaced)

Viewers said, “Hwang Bo/Kim Hyun Joong couple went to the beach. But if it was Al-Shin that walked on the beach, it would’ve been pretty like a painting…and what kind of great memories would they make.” “In the past I was always looking forward to the show every week and was anxiously waiting for Sunday. But now, there are no more smiling moments (in the show). Al-Shin couple come back soon.” suggesting their return to the show.

Today’s ‘We Got Married’ had a special 100 minute broadcast.

above article translated by o-cha.

As much as I agree that I miss seeing Alex and Shin Ae, it’s unfair to compare the two new couples to them since they are different and portraying a different kind of married couple relationship. Plus, they are only just starting out so it’s probably pretty difficult for viewers to adjust to them after more than 8 episodes. For one reason alone, Alex and Shin Ae absence is a big gap that will never be filled unless they themselves come back to the show.

32 thoughts on “We Got Married Has Lost Its Heart Throbbing Effect

  1. Hmm.. Although I thought Alex and Shin Ae were a cute couple, they weren’t that entertaining to watch because they were perfect.

    I don’t like Lee Hui Jae and whats-her-face… BORING. And I thought I’d hate Hwang Bo and Kim Hyun Joong because I’m not a fan of either, but Kim Hyun Joong’s 어뚱함 is cute to watch.

    I don’t really care as long as Crown J-Seo In Young and Andy-Solbi couples remain, especially the latter. They better get together in real life!

  2. Ofcourse we miss them! But talking about romance at least I get a lot from Andy and Solbi, and maybe the other couples will get there too. But more importantly I think is a good chemistry and a lot of laughter! And I think we get that with the two new couples!

  3. I won’t necessarily agree with the term “heart throb” but I think the show is missing what is known as a man’s man. Basically as mentioned previously, WGM is missing an ideal man. While Andy is very popular, he’s very cutesie and isn’t a stereotypical male hero type. Crown J is too young and whipped by SIY and the others are too new (The SS501 kid doesn’t look too promising as a man’s man and LHJ is too quiet and too old).

    Alex and ShinAe fit those stereotypical romance roles and the fact that they had such chemisty (behind AnBi) made us/the viewers really dig the show. I do want the AlShin couple to come back but I stil predict doom and disappointment.

  4. I am of course in accordance with coolsmurf here. I honestly miss Al-Shin in WGM. They were very entertaining to watch (for me) because they provide a very romantic feel to the show. Once they’re gone I’d hate to say this but the romance went out the door with them too. Andy and Solbi are cute but they are nowhere close to being as romantic as Alex& Shin Ae. I think some viewers (including myself) feel attached to Al-Shin because we are invested in their relationship development. For us watching Shin Ae slowly opening up and getting more comfortable with Alex with each passing week was precious. It’s almost like we were watching 2 people slowly falling in love. Since we are so invested in Al-Shin..once they left there seems to be this void….the feeling that there is something missing.
    Some might say they are too ‘perfect’ like characters in a drama…so be it. I am entertained by them..and isn’t that the whole point of the show? =)

    I should probably explain more on the ‘heart throbbing’ thing. The article isn’t saying that Alex is a heartthrob but merely saying how watching Al-Shin makes people’s heart flutter. I know for me when I watched them I became giddy (pretty much the same feeling that I get from watching a romantic movie)
    gyopolife has a valid point on Alex. He was definitely the mature gentleman of the show. It’ll be tough to get another Alex-type man in the show.

    I’m not passing judgments on the new couples yet..in fact I like the Lee Hwi Jae-Jo Yeo Jeong couple..they seem to be quite sweet so far.

    It’s quite interesting to read how people have very very different opinions on the couples.

  5. In my opinion, romance is an art, not just feelings.

    Romance doesnt touch one’s heart always. 🙂

  6. like what i’ve said on my previous comments, the show for me became little boring since alex/shin left, i mean the fondness of waiting every sunday to come just suddenly went ppffff (for me)_.. i don’t even know why.. i tried to revive my feeling since alex/shin left but to no avail… i still watch it because hwang bo and KHJ is kindda cute but thats about it.. i use to like andy and solbi but for me, solbi is kindda getting overboard…. i really hope that alex although very busy is aware of whats happening regarding the viewers of the show so he could rush things up and get back soon!!… for me the alex/shin couple are not perfect but how they treat each other and opening their feelings for one another is what makes it exciting. That is of course besides alex’s being a gentleman and shin very pretty..they are just so right for each other..

  7. I agree that the Al-Shin tandem had left a “void” after they left the show. They’re not the perfect couple but their actions epitomized the progression of an ideal relationship. It’s like we were part of a romance novel. I do miss them terribly. If fate would have it, I pray that they find themselves back in each others arm (off-cam).

  8. I guess the dynamic with the previous 4 couples is that it has never been done before(in a way), it does stereotype but in a fresh way… Al-Shin the romantic one, An-Bi the cute one, Crown J-SIY the quarellsome one, Dondon-Saori the jaded ajushi hubby and the dissatisfied wife, (despite being newlywed)…

    While I am still enjoying An-Bi cuteness and can Solbi stop hitting on Andy’s butt? And Crown J kissing his blings and greeting them in the morning and SIY calling shoes “her children” is really quite a riot… I really miss Al-Shin and yes I do feel the void…

    But, as much as I miss Al-Shin, I guess it will be fair to say, that Hwang Bo-KHJ and LHJ-JYJ need some time to develop… so far I can say though they are playing out the countless typical dramas of either older woman+younger man and older man+younger woman pretty predictably but its still too soon to judge… there are definately sweet moments and romantic one, perhaps just not as heart-throbbing and breathless as Al-Shin make viewers feel… and I agree with O-cha that as we “invested” in their development, thats why we feel more attached.

    And with that, we’ll see how things develop, doubt the PD will just yank the new couples out so soon just cause of some viewers comment, guess they are taking the wait and see approach as well.

    And all this while waiting for Al-Shin to come back… fighting!!!

  9. to me Alshin couple isnt perfect either but the way they treat the others is keep me watching. is not overwhelm like AnBi or irritated like CrownJ-InYoung. Their gestures to others are subtle but with great thought behind it. And becos both of them been hurt before so their approaches to romance diff to the rest
    since they left, my intereste left with them and so the hype of the next eps isnt there anymore.

  10. it is true that something is missing since they left the show..(i wasn’t anticipating for sunday much as I used to) but it’s true that we can’t compare the other couple to be like Alex-Shin Ae.

    At first when I saw Lee Hwee Jae’s trying to satisfied his bride too much i was thinking and saying that he’s trying to be as romantic and as attentive as Alex. but the I realize, he can never be Alex. Alex did (for me) raise the bar for the events and the level of romance. and since the response of his actions has been big the other couple had looked up to that.

    So, with the thought of Alex-Shin Ae will (possibly) be coming back in the future I just have to let the new couple a chance and entertain me in their own way. we should all give them a shot, they’re pretty funny anyway (awkwardness will always be there anyway, Alex-Shin Ae was awkward at first too).

    for me seeing Alex-Shin Ae felt like seeing a love blossom, not seeing how they portrayed a newlyweds.

  11. all your comments make me realise one thing, it’s kinda like when one certain couple from Xman exited the show simulataneously.

  12. well. to me, married is not always about picture perfect. don’t misunderstood, i love Alex-Shinae. they’re the first couple i ever love in the show. but to say other couples, esp new ones aren’t as great cuz they didn’t give the ‘picture perfect’ scene/feeling like Alex-Shinae give……that’s a little too much.

    i don’t think this show is all about ‘the most romantic/perfect couple for the win’ or all couples would’ve been giving their best act to be romantic as well. this show is more to exploring different/various couple traits. it’s not about finding love in show as well, rite? or am i wrong?

    Alex-Shinae seems so real n romantic just cuz it so happen their relationship n characteristics led them to that way. you can’t expect all couples to fell in love romantically with one another. unless it’s a matchmaking show. oh well. the reason i first loved alex-shinae is because they were their real selves in the show eventhough they can act their roles n put some exaggeration if they want to, n make it more dramatic like some couples. as for now, that would be the reason i start to love Hyunjoong-Hwangbo couple. they’re real even if a little awkward, it is them alrite, and what they portrayed in their older woman-younger man marriage, are really something that could be learnt n pondered in real life couples. i haven’t watch Hwijae-Yeojung, but i’m sure there are some special trait that this couple would give to viewers as well.

    well, it sure is nice to see a picture perfect couple, but you can’t expect others to be like them, cuz they’re not. i hope the netizens and Alex-Shinae fans would stop comparing the new couples with them n give irrelevant burden to those couples.

    Thanks for the news tho…..

  13. Oh? What’s about the 100 minute show? Why is it? For what? Sorry for my innocence.

    Of course, same to all of you here. I do like Alex’s couple. Cos I like Alex. I also want them to come back. But agree with the others, it’s unfair to judge the new couples now. Of coz I don’t want Kim Hyun Joong to be partnered with Hwang Bo. Just feel a bit weird. But I’ll wait & see.

    Every week, I am eager to watch the show, still. I like Crown J as his charisma is slowing shinning up. Andy is cute. I do hope they will come in real life. Hehehehe…

  14. First my thanks to o-cha for translating the article for us and coolsmurf for posting the blog.

    Interesting reading of comments and the different opinions you guys have posted. I must say that I agreed with you guys especially gyopolife on the missing aspect of man’s man.
    Alex has certainly raise the level of romance bar and as such the couples actions are very predictable.

    Alex, I hold you to it saying that you’ve the intention of coming back to the show and your partner better be ShinAe! Will be waiting.

  15. I must be the only one who don’t really care at all! I guess I’m not a big fan of romance because all their scenes (especially Alex, he’s too ..mushy) gave me goosebumps, not the good kinds. I usually just skipped through all their parts. I’m not saying I don’t want them back, it’s just that… I guess I don’t care. If it makes people happy, then why not.

    It’s still only 2 weeks. I’ll give them more time.

  16. Well Lee Hwi Jae couple make me go LOL. LHJ’s antics are so cute! Same as Kim Hyun Joong, his weird thinking.

    But yea, there’s something missing after the Al-Shin couple left, but there’s something new.

    Gotta give and take, isn’t it.

  17. I miss them both but its true, its too early to judge what will happen with the other couples =)
    but i do hope alex and shin come back soon…cuz I miss seeing alex every sunday ❤

  18. Hello, i am new here!!!

    Hello Alvin, you have a COOL blog here about WGM. I am from Singapore too. Only started to watch this program when googling for the song Like A Child and discovered this jewel singer – Allex Chu that was when Allex and Shin Ae will ask to do a sport. Interesting program and VERY sad that both are gone – LOVE ‘EM!!!

    I’ve heard that Allex has a personal blog, do you know where? Tried looking around but in vain.

    Do you know where i could download Allex’s songs that he sang in WGM; Flowerpot & Like A Child – LOVE those.

  19. Pardon me for saying this but I felt like they were kind of boring. The first few minutes were all like Shinae giggling.. and giggling.. and giggling . Lol. They’re ok though. Very … dramatic. But Alex… this may seem weird.. yes he’s sweet but to me, a bit creepy… seems like he knows his way around women ..a lot.. like a playboy hiding under a mask

  20. Alvin…agree with you on the X-man couple parallel. That previous article comparing Al-shin to the Xman couple rings even truer now with a lot of people sorely missing Al-Shin as much as they missed X-man couple. Thankfully for WGM though the ratings still hold up.

    Winnie : the 100 minute show is just a one time special. Next week it should be back to regular time. The reason behing 100 minutes — I think as simple as WGM being the most popular segment of MBC’s Sunday night lineup.

    liamclydi : I know you can d/l the songs from the soompi WGM thread.

  21. As I haven’t seen Shinae and Alex (I wasn’t extremely interested in those two), I can’t really judge but its unfair for the viewers to start judging the new two groups when its only been 2 episodes or so. I bet Alex and Shinae were developing and were unstable in the first two episodes of the show so its not fair to compare a 8 episode couple to a 2 episode couple that just finally came on the show, not really knowing the concept.

    I really like the An Bi pairing (I feel its very cute and romantic in its own way, like a different kind of love) and I’m not that big on Seo In Young and Crown J pairing although it displays a different style of love that married too early before really knowing their true selves lol.

    WGM is and still interesting even with Hwang Bo/Hyunjoong and Anbi. I like Hwang Bo cause shes not too feminine and Hyunjoong for being a silly, confusing husband that still needs experience.
    And I enjoy Solbi and Andy too because they portray my ‘ideal’ kind of love….silly, childish, but caring of each other when needed.

    I guess its harsh to say the show lost its charm because of Alex and Shinae because every person’s ideal relationship is different. Its a bit too harsh to say that a ‘picture perfect’ relationship (that probably isn’t because what relationship IS perfect?) is the main of this show. WGM has variety in styles of relationships and I think thats the charm of it.

  22. i don’t think it’s lost it’s “heart throbbing” effect. AlShin were cute, but they weren’t ALL of WGM. i think i bigger void would be left if AnSol but who knows. I personally really like the new hyung joon and hwang bo couple. they’re so funny! and while AlShin were sweet.. it was like.. TOO sweet and perfect sometimes. It’s nice to dream, but not that amusing or realistic. they were really awkward with each other in the beginning as well, which was kind of hard for me to watch. i think the new couples will get better and place their own charm. plus, the odds of finding a guy as smooth and charming as Alex.. is soo little. i would probably guess he was a player if i were to meet him in real life. but they really like those kind of perfect perfect guys in korea i guess.

    personally, i think ppl need to get over the fact that Alex and Shin Aae are gone for now. if they return, great. if not, oh well. it’s not the end of the world.

  23. wahhh i have to agree with those fans! heheh i love the show because of them! i know that it’s unfair but i really love them as a couple! and i even cried when alex was having a hard time saying to Shin-ae that he will be out of the show….gos! i cried so hard when he was singing to her T_T i miss them…and to tell you the truth i stopped watching we got married when Alex-Shinae couple were out of the show….the show did lost it’s heart-throbbing effect….

    because i can feel that something is really going on or something is progressing between Alex & Shin ae…ahhhh! please go back to the show! huhuhuhu T_T

  24. I’ve been MIA! What’s this I hear? Al-Shin being missed? So true.

    I don’t think viewers are saying that the Al-Shin couple are what makes or made WGM, they’re just stating that for the Al-Shin fans, there’s a void, a piece missing, like the show isn’t the same anymore without them. I know that it isn’t the same for me. Like some of you here, I don’t look forward to Sundays anymore, actually I dread it, with it being the day before Monday and Monday meaning back to work…ewww, hehe. But when they were still on, I didn’t care if I had to go back to work the next day, I waited and stayed up and anticipated their parts. Like O-cha (hi, dearie!), I, too, was invested in their romance and it was very much like a love story unfolding…more like beginning before our eyes. Some of you aren’t into all the romance stuff and prefer the bickering of SIY and CJ and others like the cuteness of Andy and Solbi, but for hopeless romantics like me – it was Alex and Shin Ae all the way. We all have our faves and it isn’t fair to judge the new couples, but that void is still there for me, and I admit that I haven’t been following the show like I use to, actually I haven’t been watching at all, but that’s just me.

    I am still waiting for their return but I do not wish for Alex to rush his album cause I understand how important it is to him. Till then, at least I have my recordings and Alvin’s blog here, haha.

    Al-Shin, hwaiting!

  25. i think it is unfair to judge other couples to al-shin coz every relationship has their own way. i am still waiting and eager for the next episodes to be aired every weeks. i’m now addicted to anbi coupls as they were so cute and romantic together. well the way anbi express their love and romance are kinda cute, special and unique. for me it is not typical romance that shows on tv dramas or movies. it’s natural and overwhelmed others. dat is one of the reasons why i think WGM hasn’t lost its throbbing effect yet. other couples should hv given chance to improve their relationship as its too early to judge.

    love anbi couple 😛 ~~

  26. I havent seen Hwang-bo couple but I think the other new couple is sweet and funny. Shin Ae and Alex I thought were cute but sometimes I smelt a lot of CHEESE. XD

    Everyone is different so they cant be the same again and I think this Older woman/man is cool =]

  27. 1) ALSHIN couple is being loved not because there are perfect BUT how they develop the relationship. they have flaws, Shin Ae sometimes akwards, she didnt respond with sweetness and what we want to hear from her, Alex also has a flaw. It just they made for each other and they are like soulmat:-

    I agreed in what they said…

    @ o-cha: I think some viewers (including myself) feel attached to Al-Shin because we are invested in their relationship development. For us watching Shin Ae slowly opening up and getting more comfortable with Alex with each passing week was precious. It’s almost like we were watching 2 people slowly falling in love.

    @ lylipinay: for me the alex/shin couple are not perfect but how they treat each other and opening their feelings for one another is what makes it exciting. That is of course besides alex’s being a gentleman and shin very pretty..they are just so right for each other..

    @ angelmom:They’re not the perfect couple but their actions epitomized the progression of an ideal relationship

    @ xalshin: to me Alshin couple isnt perfect either but the way they treat the others is keep me watching. is not overwhelm like AnBi or irritated like CrownJ-InYoung. Their gestures to others are subtle but with great thought behind it.

    @amareally: for me seeing Alex-Shin Ae felt like seeing a love blossom, not seeing how they portrayed a newlyweds.

    @ nofreak

    2) Every couple should has a chance to develop and have their own specialty. It just a matter did they a match made from heaven like AlShin? I agreed on that point. As norfreakwell said:-

    @ nofreakwell. to me, married is not always about picture perfect. don’t misunderstood, i love Alex-Shinae. they’re the first couple i ever love in the show. but to say other couples, esp new ones aren’t as great cuz they didn’t give the ‘picture perfect’ scene/feeling like Alex-Shinae give……that’s a little too much.

    i don’t think this show is all about ‘the most romantic/perfect couple for the win’ or all couples would’ve been giving their best act to be romantic as well. this show is more to exploring different/various couple traits. it’s not about finding love in show as well, rite? or am i wrong?

    Alex-Shinae seems so real n romantic just cuz it so happen their relationship n characteristics led them to that way. you can’t expect all couples to fell in love romantically with one another. unless it’s a matchmaking show. oh well. the reason i first loved alex-shinae is because they were their real selves in the show eventhough they can act their roles n put some exaggeration if they want to, n make it more dramatic like some couples. as for now, that would be the reason i start to love Hyunjoong-Hwangbo couple. they’re real even if a little awkward, it is them alrite, and what they portrayed in their older woman-younger man marriage, are really something that could be learnt n pondered in real life couples. i haven’t watch Hwijae-Yeojung, but i’m sure there are some special trait that this couple would give to viewers as well.

    well, it sure is nice to see a picture perfect couple, but you can’t expect others to be like them, cuz they’re not. i hope the netizens and Alex-Shinae fans would stop comparing the new couples with them n give irrelevant burden to those couples.

    Thanks for the news tho…

  28. 3) This show really show how a relationship grow and how love is develop and how is someone is made for each other while others not.

    I didn’t watch this show for anyone. I’m being objective since started. I love the goofiness in In Jung and Crown J relationship, I learn and try to like AnBi progress. Despite they are cute, it is just not full filling. It just like we watch a x-man show, or backstage reality show life of an artist. That they should do something to let the love spark between them because they are on the show. Of course Solbi is cute and like Andy, but sometimes being too obvious is not realistic. Subtle is the best way to explain the progress in AlShin relationship. DonDon and his partner is trying to find what is they want in realationship. Every couple teach us something. It is only who is the real and realistic one.

    Because in real life, it is just love not the only thing that matter. A long lasting and soulful relationship based on so many things, it is based on chemistry, natural, respect, love, patient, understanding, good communication etc. Sometimes, how much we tried, how much we love someone, if he/she is not our soulmate/ fate then we can’t be together forever.

    Then, what I and most of us found in AlShin is not about perfection, is not a about romantism and it is not about idealistic YET:-

    It is about truthful
    It is about realistic ( He left the show because he knew where he stand and what he want and he trust his feeling. She understand him tough she hurts, she will wait for him )

    It is about a natural progress of true love. It wouldn’t be perfect all the time. As in episode 13, they didn’t even hugs. But that how true love of a soul mate is. Sometimes it just didnt need word.

    Overall, each couple is loved by different people based on how they viewed life, perfective of life, age etc.

    Some people watch just for fun. some people watch to learn something, some people watch for their idols, some people watch for reality shows, some peoples watch for understanding what does mean by real development on a true love. On finding one love.

    Personally too, for me this show is not at all like X-Man no matter how much I enjoyed X-Man..Just my humble opinions and 2cents. Each one on their own.

  29. i loved watching the alshin couple.. some people may say that theyre too perfect.. to me it just seems that alex was being too sweet/caring because he wants to get close to shin-ae.. since she started out as a closed person.. if it were solbi or inyoung he wouldnt need to do those things since theyre pretty much open with theyre feelings..
    imho theyre not too perfect.. Alex just tried really hard to open shin-ae’s heart

Leave a Reply

