In Remembrance of 2009

A year has gone by again in a flash and I thank everyone who has been visiting even though I am not updating this at all.

I also got to meet the singing diva, Charice Pempengco when she was in Singapore on the 27th for the Singapore Idol finale.

Group photo with Charice

Boy did she really wow me with her powerhouse vocals. It was really amazing to see her performing live than from youtube (where she is already so awesome). It’s really no joke where I have goosebumps as she belted her songs. Seeing the video replays on Youtube just doesn’t do her justice.

It was also nice to meet her backstage. Had a hug, handshake, high-5 but forgot to take a photo with her. Hope that she releases great music in future.

======================================

Joining allkpop has more or less been a good stint because I need not be a 1-man show anymore and have a more fulfiling life. And at least I am writing for a purpose, since allkpop is really becoming really huge if you see all the exclusives, etc that it has gotten over the past year.

A lot has happened in 2009 in the Kpop world and like always, most will remember the bad more vividly than the good. Incidents like Jaebeom, TVXQ, H1N1, etc have dominated news headlines for much of 2009.

I have more or less kept up with my schedule of watching my yearly staple of dramas in 2009 and there were as usual a mixture of good and duds despite my careful selection. My top dramas were The Man Who Can’t Marry, You’re Beautiful, IRIS and Queen Seon Duk. All dramas were equally good.

As for variety shows, there were the usual staple diet of 1N2D, Family Outing and Infinity Challenge. I also added Invincible Youth and Strong Heart to my weekly must watch shows. My winner would be 1N2D for its sheer unpredictability and insane fun over the others.

Music-wise, it was a good year for Kpop fans although there were notable absentees from previous years like TVXQ, Big Bang and Wonder Girls who won major awards in 2008. But it was never a dull moment in 2009.

Here are my top 10 picks in no particular order.

Baek Ji Young feat. Taecyeon – My Ear’s Candy
Baek Ji Young – Don’t Forget
8eight – Goodbye my Love
T-ara and Supernova – TTL
Brown Eyed Girls – Abracadabra
2NE1 – Fire
Super Junior – Sorry, Sorry
SNSD – Tell me Your Wish
After School – Because of You
Park Hyo Shin – After Love

I also got many requests from people asking me to upload videos again, write again here and on wondergirls. But really, when I said I would stop, I mean it unless otherwise for special occasions, or if allkpop sack me or something. I don’t make empty promises like others.

Hope you enjoy your year and all the best to anyone who is reading this to have a great 2010! The Fifa World Cup is coming again, woohoo!

p.s. With regrets, there’s no Wonderbang to follow on from 2007-08. Guess it’s really the end. We the fans probably made them famous too quickly.

36 thoughts on “In Remembrance of 2009

  1. wow it’s great that you got to meet charice in person :)
    and i also like reading your articles in allkpop., thank you for all your hard work in posting news :) may you have an awesome 2010., happy new year~! ^^

  2. awww~ nice to see a post on your blog again ^____^
    you’re an allkpop autor?! uwaaah i didnt know that ;o; but yay!! great to hear that! ^^
    yeah.. 2009 has been a quite.. interesting year~ there were lots of surprises.. bad and good as well~
    i hope 2010 will be more positive for the artists >< i really hope all these controversies will find an end…

    and uwah! you saw charice live *o* I came to know today that she's going to have a concert here in vienna on february! WHAT A GREAT NEWS! *excited* i cant wait to hear her awesome voice live *.*

    I wish you a happy new year and may 2010 be MUUUCCHHHH greater for you ^___^

  3. It’s nice to hear from you again. I’m glad you feel comfortable with what you’re doing now, and I read your articles on allkpop =)
    I agree with what happened with WonderBang. Maybe years later, they’ll have some sort of reunion. At least we witnessed and can cherish it.
    I can’t wait for 2010 and more Wonder Girls!

  4. OMG Alvin I miss youuuuuuu!

    Hate to admit it but I haven’t been following allkpop so I’ve really missed your posts. I’m really glad to hear you’re doing well. Meeting Charice sounds awesome and My Ear’s Candy is STILL on repeat on my ipod lol.

    As a diehard Wonderbang fan, I’m sad to see it not happening this year (inevitable considering they’re both overseas and 2NE1 has debut this year). I’m also sad to see Jae-seok leave Family Outing soon. Not sure what the future of the show will be!

    Anyhow, keep up the great work. Don’t ask why but I’m still subscribed to this site and I’ll leave it in case you ever make another post like this one.

    Happy New Year and wish you the best in 2010!

  5. I really miss your posts as well. AKP has a lot of “filler” to sort through to get to the friendly articles, and I’m not much for fanwars. I’m glad you’ve got a regular stint and I hope 2010 is awesome for you.

    I love GD_CL and YBommie… but there was something special about WonderBang that just isn’t there. I heard Season 2 of FO is on w JaeSuk maybe they’ll just tape less or something, he should spend time with his baby.

    Lee SooYoung – Don’t Call My Name (I love it even w/o subs)
    LeeSang – The Girl Who Can’t Break Up, The Boy Who Can’t Leave (the title intrigued me and the song is just great)

  6. If Johnny ever sacked you I’d rage and it’d be all bad.

    Anyway, I completely agree with you – 2009 has been absolutely amazing, and at this point one year ago, I had absolutely no idea that I’d be where I am today. In terms of the kpop world, wondergirls/coolsmurf.wordpress eased me into an obsession in 2008. There have been so many up’s and down’s this year, but they’ve been very interesting and have helped me expand and shaped my interests and opinions. (…lol why is this paragraph all about me…)

    But seriously, SBS/KBS/MBC: WHERE THE FF IS MY WONDERBANG? Maybe we’ll see a comeback next year…. ;_;

  7. nice to see an update here… your blogs was one of the first i consistently read when i was getting into kpop.

    i miss the wondergirls blog most of all :( but ive learned to get my wg fix other ways, i guess. :)

  8. Coolsmurf I miss your updates on coolsmurf.wordpress.com and on wondergirls.wordpress.com. I love reading your posts because I love how you write the news, you are never biased and when you add your personal comment you are always polite and respectful.

    Could you ask allkpop’s managers to add a feature where we can search and browse articles by a specific author? I want to read your articles only, but it’s hard to find them because there are so many posts by other authours in allkpop. :(

    In 2009, Wonder Girls were active in USA and Big Bang were active as a group only in Japan so the chances of Wonderbang happening was almost zero. But I still have hopes that in the future Wonderbang will happen again. Wonderfuls & V.I.P.s still love Wonderbang.

    With 2PM debuting in the end of 2008 and 2NE1 debuting in the beggining of 2009 and with both of them being the hottest rookies in KPOP, I was hoping we could see another YGent+JYPent love with a 2PM+2NE1 collaboration. 2PM and 2NE1 are both fierce and unique groups so I thought they would have great chemistry together like Wonderbang.

    But unfortunelly the collaboration never happened. :( MBC & SBS chose to pair 2PM with SNSD instead and I really think it didn’t made much sense because SNSD’s cute and girly image didn’t suit 2PM’s sexy and fierce image and their special performance lacked chemistry and energy. :( YG chose to pair 2NE1 with Big Bang in every special performance they had and as much as I love both, I think it’s not a good idea to pair 2NE1 with Big Bang because 2NE1 needs to have opportunity to show that they are more than just a ‘female version of Big Bang’.

    I really hope someday 2PM+2NE1 can perform together while Wonder Girls and Big Bang are not active in Korea. I’m sure 2PM+2NE1 pairing can bring us the spark, charisma, chemistry and energy that Wonderbang had.

  9. hi there!! i still come and visit sometimes to see if you update this site or something..^^
    honestly, when i discoved your site, i started to like it more than allkpop so i was kind of disapointed when i heard you were gonna transfer there..
    you are a great writer ~fighting!!

  10. You are right! Charice does give you the goosebumps! I also saw her live in LA last year and that is one concert I will not forget. Powerhouse voice!

  11. alvin you are and have always been my favorite writer. very unbiased and adding your own opinion at the end. although i am still sad you don’t maintain your own sites its all very understandable. i hope 2009 has been good to you unlike the kpop celebrity scene. quite sad. =( i can always say that i enjoy all your work. keep working hard toward those goals! im glad that you finally got to meet charice. ITS ALL THANKS TO YOU! haha

  12. OPPAAA~~i missed you!!! Glad that you came back and posted a recap of last year XDD i am still one great fan of coolsmurf, as i have emphasized many times you brought me into kpop and i LOVE it. Thanks oppa~

    새해 복 많이 받으세용~~

  13. just read this…

    and WOW! U met Charice?! awesome!

    quick question…
    do u have interest in other asian ent besides korea??
    why don’t u blog about it too here… ^^

  14. just wondering, are you still with allkpop, how come I never see you write articles anymroe? and why did Sookyeong leave allkpop too?

  15. @Loli, it’s a long story.

    @DrKNhenke, yes i remember, sadly it remains a fantasy.

    And why do everyone still visit here?

  16. @Coolsmurf Well I tend to vist from time to time for nostagia purposes. If it wasn’t for you I probably wouldn’t have gotten to know about K-entertainment- as cheesy as that sounds. :)

  17. thanks for uploading Charice’s Star King vid..You and falsevoice were the catalyst of her success…good job!

  18. I just wanted to let you know that even though it’s beeeeeennnnnn a long time since you decided to leave to allkpop, I totally still miss coming here for updates about the korean world and WGM. everythime i start to miss the joongbo couple I just come here and reminiscence about the ol’days :)

Leave a Reply

